Tuesday, June 12, 2018

Spice and Wolf - Season Two (2009)

Introduction:

After taking the unusual and engaging trip with Holo and Lawrence in the first season of Spice and Wolf I was ready for another trip. The world created in the first season of the fantasy series was intriguing, and so were the economic based storylines. But I had grown really attached to these characters and was looking forward to seeing where their adventures took them and if they would grow closer or get pulled apart.

Summary:

Kraft Lawrence (Jun Fukuyama) the crafty peddler and Holo (Ami Koshimizu) the wolf goddess traveling in human form, continue their journey to the north. While the final goal is to reach Holo’s homeland, Lawrence isn’t going to shy away from any deals on the way there. At their first stop, they meet a dashing young merchant, Amarti (Saeko Chiba) who falls head over heels for Holo. Soon he engages Lawrence in a contest of merchant guile involving pyrite. The winner will end up traveling with Holo!

After managing to wiggle out of that predicament, the duo arrives in the far north in a city where fur trading is king, and the powerful church hangs like vulture over everything. They meet a sly merchant, Eve (Romi Park) who entices Lawrence with a very lucrative deal. If it works out, Lawrence will finally have enough money (and a location) for a full-fledged shop. He will achieve his life long dream, but does that mean the end of his journey with Holo?

Good Points:
  • Maintains the easy going tone of the first season
  • Holo and Lawrence have some great interactions in this season
  • Introduces some interesting supporting characters and antagonists

Bad Points:
  • The two storylines seem too thin to be supporting the full season
  • Dialogue sequences go on way too long and too wordy
  • Lots of reuse of animation from previous episodes and season 1

Overall:

Sadly, this season was a bit of a disappointment. At its core, the characters take an interesting journey, but the execution turns it into a slog. Pacing gets dragged down by too much dialogue that spins its wheels. The resolution feels unsatisfying. There are some good moments and whole episodes that work really well. But it just doesn’t quite measure up to the first season. I’d say, you could pass on this one, unless you are thirsting for more from these characters.

Scores(out of 5)
Visuals: 3
Sound: 3
Acting: 4
Script: 3
Music: 4
Direction: 3
Entertainment: 3
Total:  3

In Depth Review

Well if there is a festival, you know they have to dance.
When I watched and reviewed the first season of Spice and WolfI mentioned that the pacing of the show was very relaxed. It allowed us to enjoy time with Lawrence and Holo, and absorb the world around them. There were plenty of scenes of the duo traveling the countryside, talking about all kinds of things including religion, economics and philosophy. It was interesting to hear two such different characters (a mortal merchant looking to start his own shop, and a immortal wolf goddess who was used to being served by humans), discuss a wide array of topics and get to know each other. It was the charm of the show. The plots involving moneymaking and negotiations gave it a unique flavor that made the series feel different from most other fantasy anime.

I’m restating this, because Spice and Wolf IIseems to take certain aspects of the first season, but modifies them in ways that hurt the overall series. 

What remains the same is the core relationship between Lawrence and Holo. The writing for these two remains excellent. They are more comfortable with each other, and this allows for some easy going teasing and banter. Some of the challenges to the relationship presented by the amorous Amarti and the scheming Eve twist the relationship in ways that force our duo to make choices they may not be ready to face.

Amarth get's bold about gold (fool's gold).
I like how Lawrence learns that Holo’s homeland may no longer exist, and that centuries have passed since she has been there. He knows this will devastate her, and so he has to decide if and when he should reveal this to her. Because he hesitates in telling her, he also must grapple with the fact that he is really fallen for Holo, maybe not as dramatically as Amarti has, and comparing himself with Amarti doesn’t do any good either. 

In that same storyline, Holo is on the receiving end of Amarti’s affections and this puts her relationship with Lawrence in stark contrast. And when she discovers Lawrence is hiding a secret from her, things take a turn. Yes it is a bit soapy, but it really evolves the relationship even further.

"No you can trust me completely..."
The second story arc in Spice and Wolf II puts Lawrence’s ultimate goal in plain sight. Sure he has to deal with the sly Eve, who is obviously up to no good. If anything goes wrong the church is going to come down hard on Lawrence. And if they find Holo, that could be even worse. Even if Lawrence gets the shop, then he will have to end his relationship with Holo (and their journey together). Holo won’t let him give up his dream, and seems ready to end it all with this deal. Again, some great character development moments built into this storyline.

I will also add that the music in this season continues to be very effective and appropriate to the series. Some of the pieces may be borrowed from the first season, but it all works well to build the atmosphere. There is an interesting bit of string dissonance used when Eve is scheming. Unfortunately there is only one variation of it, and in certain episodes Eve does a lot of scheming, so you get a little sick of the piece after a while.

The opening and ending J-pop pieces fit Spice and Wolf II as well. The opening song, Mitsu no Yoakeperformed by one of my favorite J-pop singers, Akino Arai. Her lovely voice gives a wistful performance of this melodic piece. The end song brings Rocky Chack back with Perfect World. While not as catchy as the previous end credit song, it is a nice little tune.

Midnight meeting the Leper's quarter, what
could go wrong?
So lets dive into what doesn’t work for the sequel series. First off it looks like the budget was reduced, or the new animation studio that stepped in for this season wasn’t quite up to the task – because Spice and Wolf II reuses a lot of animation. Sometimes it brings up images from earlier in the season. Sometimes it flashes back to scenes from the first season. And sometimes it flashes back to earlier in the episode. To quote Tom Servo “You can’t flash back to something that happened five minutes ago!” Many times the flashback animation doesn’t seem connected to what is happening on screen (which is dialogue 98% of the time). It feels arbitrary most of the time and it adds almost nothing to dialogue. Even worse, some of those flashbacks to season one are pretty much the same set of images from the very first episode. I swear we see Holo standing naked in the cart about 15 times in flashbacks.

There could be two reasons to include all these visual flashbacks. The first is because the animation budget wasn’t too large, so they compensated by adding these moments to keep costs down. The other is to try to add some visual interest to the long, drawn out dialogues that were spilling out all over the place. I’ll get to those in a moment.

"I told you darn peddlers to get off my lawn!"
The rest of the animation does a pretty good job of creating mood. The two cities that Lawrence and Holo journey to are dark and dower locals. They feel imposing and dangerous. While the first city does have a festival going on (that seems to last for days and days), the joy is contrasted with the night vistas and dark stonework. Much of the dialogue happens in darkened rooms and shadowy corners. We don’t get those lovely pastoral scenes in this series. The second story arc in Spice and Wolf II is even darker visually. The port city seems to be in a constant state of gloom, and the inn where our duo spends a lot of time is nearly 100% shadow. It gives the storyline a very uneasy feeling, and works to its advantage. It really feels like this whole deal that Lawrence is working with Eve could go south very quickly. 

One of the few bright scenes in the season.
In the end the visuals feel very dark in tone. It mostly works, and when we do get some brighter moments, like the dance at the festival or the greenhouse later in the season, they really stand out. I appreciate giving the season it’s own tone and mood, but I did miss the open fields, sprawling forests and towering mountains of the first season.

But the animation can only work with the script, and that is where Spice and Wolf II runs into its biggest problem. The first season spread out a series of adventures for Lawrence and Holo to engage in. We had about four mini arcs over the span of 13 episodes. Here we have two storylines spread out over 12 episodes. While there are some great character interactions built into these storylines, it becomes apparent that there just isn’t enough material for 12 episodes. You have quite a number of episodes where everything seems to stop cold while Lawrence talks with another character (not Holo) for scene after scene, going on and on about the same topic, but not really giving us new insight. It feels like padding

Feathers take on a whole new meaning when
Diana is around.
Sometimes I like the discussion as it starts. Lawrence’s conversations with Diana (Akeno Atanabe) are very interesting. Especially when you learn that she is a bird goddess that is living in human form. Obviously parallels between her life and Holo’s make for interesting character examination. But it takes so long to get to that point, and so little is done with it. Instead, Lawrence spends nearly two episodes worth of time making his way to Diana while pondering his fate (with tons of flashbacks) and then talks with Diana about stories and how she gathers them and the philosophy of storytelling (all fascinating topics, but treated here with a lot of words not adding up to much). Again, many many flashbacks occur during these discussions, and the sum total of what we get is that Diana and Lawrence agree about storytelling, and discuss what she found out about Holo’s homeland. 

"Oh I know exactly what you're thinking... dirty mortal."
Yes, I got really frustrated with the pacing in Spice and Wolf II. I appreciated the relaxed storytelling of the first season, because it felt like we were building the world and the character relationships. Here, it feels like padding dialogue in dark uninteresting rooms. Anime writing can go this way often. Even my favorite series Neon Genesis Evangeiion is notorious for long scenes of characters monologuing about philosophy and psychology. But the difference is that in NGE, the monologues or dialogues feel like they are leading us to a revelation with these characters. The series is a psychological examination of Shinji and his battle against fear. In Spice and Wolf II the dialogues just feel like endless words leading to a whole lot of nothing. The key moments occur between Holo and Lawrence, but the two don’t end up spending all that much time together. What moments we do get are the best of the season. I even like the final discussion at the end of the series where they define what they mean to each other.

Divine wrath!
Let’s look at the ending for a moment. It feels rushed, as if they were hoping to build up to something else, but realized they weren’t getting a third season, and so they just kind of threw in a final dialogue, and had the characters walk off into a city besieged by riots. The key moment where the two finally come to grips with how much they really care about each other is handled well. But I wanted something a bit more, some kind of moment where Holo finally arrives home, with Lawrence at her side. What gets hinted at, in the discussions between Diana the chronicler, and Lawrence never gets a payoff. It is a real missed opportunity, since storytelling, lies, and deception are key thematic elements in the second season. The series ends with a bittersweet finale, I appreciate that. But if doesn’t satisfy, not because we don’t get “happily ever after”, but because it feels rushed. Spice and Wolf as a series is anything other than rushed. 

I did enjoy my second trip with Lawrence and Holo. There are some really good character moments for sure. And fans of the first season will probably enjoy those. But this is one of those instances where the potential feels wasted. Tighter storytelling (maybe throwing in another arc with Holo and Lawrence arriving in Holo’s homeland) would have helped this season immensely. It would have resolved the flashback issues, the longwinded meandering dialogue, and given us an ending that felt earned and satisfying. If you are a die-hard fan, you’ll probably enjoy this season, but everyone else can stick with the first season, the novels and manga that are out there. 

Divine understanding.
Enjoy this review? Click an ad and support this blog.

Tuesday, June 5, 2018

Score Sample: Solo (2018)

So it is time to roll out another Star Wars track for the score sample. I have to say I was pretty excited to hear that John Powell was going to be providing the score for Solo, even though I wasn't too excited about the movie itself. Powell is one of those composers who knows how to create some orchestral bombast, and keep his themes colorful and engaging. His style is a bit different from John Williams, but his use of percussion in action music is impressive. His score for How to Train Your Dragon remains one of my favorite scores from the previous decade.

Then we got the news that John Williams was going to provide a theme for Han Solo, and Powell was going to utilize it in his score. That was music to this film score fan's ears. The result is one of the most entertaining and exciting Star Wars related scores we've ever got. Lots of great stuff on this album, but my favorite track has to be Reminiscence Therapy. Not only does Powell give us a great statement of the new Han Solo theme, but he works in classic musical moments from A New Hope and The Empire Strikes Back into the cue. He keeps it all flowing into one amazingly dynamic track, a real highlight of the album.

So enjoy Reminiscence Therapy from Solo composed by John Powell including themes by John Williams.


Sunday, May 27, 2018

Wonder Woman (2017)

Introduction:

It was inevitable that I would watch Wonder Woman. It has Amazons in it. How am I supposed to resist that? Well you also have the fact that the character has always been around since I was a kid. I used to watch Challenge of the Super Friends a lot. But I got the feeling from the trailer that this movie would be a lot less silly and lot less 70s.

Summary:

On the hidden isle of Themyscira Amazons from ancient Greece are still alive and doing well, thank you very much. Their queen Hippolyta (Connie Nielsen) tries to convince her spitfire of a daughter Diana (Gal Gadot) that she doesn’t need to be trained as a warrior. Even though the Amazons have been created by Zeus to battle Ares, the Gods were all destroyed many centuries ago.

Unfortunately it looks like Ares is also alive and doing well, thank you very much. Currently he has The Great War blazing across Europe and threatening to engulf the entire world. An American spy Steve Trevor (Chris Pine) brings this news to the Amazons after he crashes on their island in his biplane. It doesn’t take long for Diana to grab her Lasso of Truth, her sword and shield and join forces with Trevor to find Ares. She suspects the ancient god is somewhere in the thick of the war, and will stop at nothing to destroy him. But this Wonder Womanis going to find that the world is deadlier than she even imagined. Robin Wright, Danny Huston and David Thewlis round out the cast.

Good Points: 
  • The cast does a great job bringing these characters to life
  • Some excellent visuals and action scenes keep things interesting
  • The movie moves at a good pace, balancing well between action and drama 

Bad Points:
  • The story is pretty familiar, super hero origin stories are a dime a dozen
  • The bookend scenes tying this movie to the Justice Leaguefeel unnecessary
  • The final battle against the big bad is by the numbers and fairly uninteresting

Overall:

Yeah the movie got its share of hype when it came out, so it is hard to not to come at it with high expectations. What you get is a solid superhero origin story that doesn’t break new ground, but is well put together and paced. The engagement of the cast and the handling of most of the action scenes make the film work. Not quite a wonder, but still a fun time.

Scores(out of 5)
Visuals: 4
Sound: 4
Acting:  4
Script:  3
Music: 3
Direction: 4
Entertainment: 4
Total:  4

Curious about a full review, sent me an email and I’ll make additional thoughts to this review.

Enjoying the content? Click and ad before you go and support this blog.

Sunday, May 20, 2018

Anime Juke Box - Konya Wa Hurricane -Bubblegum Crisis

Going a bit classic with the anime juke box today. Heading back to 1987 and the original animated video series Bubblegum Crisis. While there is a crisis in the series, it has nothing to do with bubblegum. It has everything to do with rogue androids and hot women in power suits blowing them up. I've already featured one song from this fun series a few years ago, but there are so many awesome 1980s rock songs in this series that I have to share another.

This is the song that starts off the series. The band Priss and the Replicants (fun nod to Bladerunner - one of many!) are rocking out on stage. The performance is intercut with the destruction one of the androids is unleashing on Tokyo. The style of the song (and the performance sequence) is borrowed from Streets of Fire, and I think it actually makes this even better. It's a great way to start off the series, and the song is pretty darn catchy (with lots and lots of english thrown in there for good measure: "Give me touch... burning touch!")

So here is Priss and the Replicants performing Konya Wa Hurricane from the series Bubblegum Crisis.


Sunday, May 13, 2018

The Babysitter (2017)

Introduction:

And then you see the name McG as the director of the film and a shiver runs down your spine. Not because he directed the two Charlie’s Angels films, but because he is still going around by the name McG. Still, you’ve got a horror comedy film about a babysitter who may or may not be involved in the dark arts. Well that just sounds like a fun Sunday movie to me.

Summary:

Cole (Judah Lewis) is not your typical 12-year-old boy. He has overprotective parents, gets picked on at school and even has neighborhood bullies that make his life miserable. But he is able to make it through the day, and that might be because he still has a babysitter. Bee (Samara Weaving) is super sexy, has a keen knowledge of geek culture and she treats Cole like a peer. Cole thinks she is swell.

Until one night he sneaks downstairs to see what the babysitter does when he is supposed to be asleep. Turns out that Bee may be the leader of a cult! Joined by the wisecracking John (Andrew Bachelor), the perky Allison (Bella Thorne), the hulking Max (Robbie Arnell) and the mysterious Sonya (Hana Mae Lee), the five commit what looks like a full on blood sacrifice right in Cole’s home. Now it is up to Cole to escape the house of horrors, and enlist the help of the girl next door, Melanie (Emily Alyn Lind) to stop Bee and her minions. Because Cole is starting to think that Bee is more than just The Babysitter.

Good Points:
  • Combines in your face outrageous style with an over the top premise to great effect
  • Some excellent chemistry between Cole and Bee makes their relationship work
  • The entire cast in on board for style of the film 

Bad Points:
  • Goes very over the top, getting a little too crude at times
  • Some of the stylistic choices may annoy some viewers
  • Never really gets scary, so horror fans may be disappointed

Overall:

Did I mention this was over the top? Well that is going to make or break the movie for you. The film takes a Tarantino style and ratchets it up to 11. The gore is gratuitous, there is some very crude humor thrown in that doesn’t always land. But the heart of the film Cole and Bee’s relationship is what makes it all work. The two actors really pull it off and give the movie a bit of heart at the center of all the ridiculous hijinks.  The movie knows what it is and goes right for it. I had a great time with it. 

Scores(out of 5)
Visuals:  4
Sound: 4
Acting:  4
Script:  4
Music: 4
Direction: 4
Entertainment: 4
Total:  4

Curious about a full review, sent me an email and I’ll make additional thoughts to this review.

Enjoying the content? Click and ad before you go and support this blog.

Sunday, May 6, 2018

And Then This Happened... Star Wars: The Phantom Menace

It is bad enough when you are hosting a nice dinner party and one of your guests turns out to be an idiot with the manners of an insane chameleon. But it is even worse when you are the dinner guest and you happened to bring the rude idiot with you. Of course, you had hoped he would act a little less annoying than usual, but time and again he proved you wrong. Jedi are known for their patience. But this, it was just going too far. Can't really blame Qui Gon here. Caption time!

And then this happened...


Sunday, April 29, 2018

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)

Introduction:

When Guardians of the Galaxy arrived in theaters in 2014, the results were unexpected. In the lead up to the film’s release, the Marvel faithful were excited but everyone else saw what looked like Star Warsclone with a talking raccoon. What we got was something that was a lot more fun than the last crop of Star Wars prequels. A sequel was inevitable, and it had a lot to live up to.

Summary:

Peter Quill (Chris Pratt) is still calling himself the Star Lord and is still traveling with his rag tag group of heroes. These include Gamora (Zoe Saldana), Drax (Dave Bautista), Rocket (Bradley Cooper) and baby Groot (Vin Diesel). Now known as the Guardians of the Galaxy they are still getting in and out of trouble but these days they do it for “good causes” like protecting powerful batteries for the golden skinned Sovereign people. But nothing goes as planned and Rocket may or may not have stolen some of the batteries and well… things go wrong.

Before you know it Yondu (Michael Rooker) and Nebula (Karen Gillan) are dragged into the mess and the Guardians are facing hundreds of deadly Sovereign ships. But help arrives when a mysterious being named Ego (Kurt Russell) saves the day. He brings the Guardians to his home world and reveals his god-like powers. Ego then claims to be Peter’s father, and that he needs his son’s help for a special mission. It isn’t long before 70s music is playing, Rocket is shouting and shooting and the galaxy is in peril again.

Good Points:
  • Maintains the fun spirit of the previous film.
  • The cast does a great job balancing humor and drama
  • Excellent visuals and productions design

Bad Points:
  • The flow of the story moves in fits and starts
  • Looking for nonstop action, you won’t find it here
  • Gets a little too self aware at times

Overall:

In some ways it would be silly to expect this film to top the predecessor. We are expecting a lot from this film and it delivers on quite a bit. Lots of humor and fun for sure. But the movie feels a little too long and could have trimmed a subplot or two to make it flow a bit better. The characters are so much fun you don’t mind spending the extra time with them. Well worth checking out, especially if you enjoyed the previous film.

Scores(out of 5)
Visuals:  5
Sound: 5
Acting:  4
Script:  3
Music: 4
Direction: 4
Entertainment: 4
Total:  4

Curious about a full review, sent me an email and I’ll make additional thoughts to this review.

Enjoying the content? Click and ad before you go and support this blog.

Sunday, April 22, 2018

The Cloverfield Paradox (2018)

Introduction:

So there is now an official Cloverfield trilogy which is blossoming into a full-blown “series” as of this writing. So far these films all share some element of surprise in their marketing. When it comes to this film, the surprise was along the lines of “where the hell did this come from?” because I didn’t know anyone who even heard this was in the works. Springing fully formed from the head of Zeus and onto Netflix we have a sci-fi horror hybrid. But is it worth checking out?

Summary:

Earth is in trouble. Natural resources are running scarce and a new source of energy needs to be found. So the Cloverfield space station is launched. Using technology based on particle accelerators, the science team believes they can create an endless source of energy… they just need to get the damn thing to work.

We meet Ava Hamilton (Gugu Mbatha-Raw) the communications officer aboard the station. She is dealing with some personal tragedy in her life and is finding it hard to focus on her job. She will need to focus, because a freak accident causes the station to malfunction and be hurtled to a mysterious location in space. While trying to figure out what is happening the crew realizes that they have opened a dimensional door. That caused all kinds of horrifying and bizarre things to occur. This includes finding a living person inside a wall, strange emanations of magnetic fields, and eyeballs just not behaving in sockets. As the horrors mount the crew becomes certain that they actually crossed dimensions and being in an alternate reality may create a paradox… a Cloverfiled Paradox so to speak. David Oyelowo, Daniel Bruhl, Chris O’ Dowd, Zhang Ziyi and Elizabeth Debicki round out the cast.

Good Points:
  • Some solid acting by the cast
  • Some excellent visual effects and sets
  • Manages to build up some solid thrills and WTF moments 

Bad Points:
  • Feels very disjointed and messy at times
  • The story is very, very, very familiar
  • Connections to the previous films in the series feels like an afterthought

Overall:

There are elements of a top-notch sci-fi thriller buried in this movie. It’s got a solid cast that does its best with a messy script. But the whole thing feels very uneven. It also is highly reminiscent of Event Horizon and similar films. Not a bad time for lazy Sunday viewing, but certainly the least of three films currently bearing the Cloverfield moniker. 10 Cloverfield Lane is easily the superior film.

Scores(out of 5)
Visuals:  4
Sound: 3
Acting:  4
Script:  2
Music: 4
Direction: 3
Entertainment: 3
Total:  3

Curious about a full review, sent me an email and I’ll make additional thoughts to this review.

Enjoying the content? Click and ad before you go and support this blog.

Sunday, April 15, 2018

And Then This Happened... This Island Earth

If there is one thing 1950s science fiction films taught us, it is to never trust anyone coming out of a flying saucer. There are a few exceptions, like good old Klaatu from The Day the Earth Stood Still. More often than not you end up with an Invasion of the Saucermen situation.

Sometimes you get to meet cool aliens with lumpy foreheads (before Star Trek made that a thing) and unusual wildlife (larger of course and with a higher degree of intelligence). But then there is the technology, and believe me, that technology is always something to see. This Island Earth has some pretty neat looking devices including the famed Interocitor. But just what the heck is this thing? I think we need a caption for it.

And then this happened...


Friday, April 6, 2018

Score Sample: Quigley Down Under (1990)

It has been a while since I featured some music from the Western genre on this blog. I'm not a big fan of Western films in general. There are some good ones out there for sure, but as a whole they just don't do too much for me.

But the music is another story all together. There have been plenty of great scores for Western films. Of course Ennio Morricone leaps to mind with his scores to The Good, The Bad and the Ugly and many other spaghetti westerns. But you also have classic Hollywood Westerns featuring scores by Alfred Newman, Elmer Bernstein and of course Jerry Goldsmith.

But I'm gong for something a bit more recent. Basil Poledouris is best known for his wonderful score to Conan the Barbarian, but the composer became one of the few who kept getting pulled into scoring the few Westerns that came out in the 80s and 90s. One of my favorites from Poledouris is the score to Quigley Down Under. It has the classic Hollywood Western sound in the main theme, but Poledouris adds some banjo and ragtime rhythms to the piece that just makes it super memorable. The whole score is a lot of fun, but seriously the main theme is one of the best of the 1990s.

So enjoy the Main Title from Quigley Down Under composed by Basil Poledouris.


Saturday, March 31, 2018

Spice and Wolf – Season One (2008)

Introduction:

When it comes to fantasy anime, you have a set of tropes that usually come into play. Sure the setting may be medieval inspired (European or Japanese) but at some point laser guns and robots will appear. Someone will end up wielding a sword at least as big as they are (usually larger). And if there are elves in the story they will have super long pointed ears. But this anime goes in a much different direction.

Summary:

Kraft Lawrence (Jun Fukuyama) is a smalltime peddler in this medieval land. He usually barters his goods for ones with greater value and then obtains surprising amounts of profit for his long travels. One day he stops in a familiar village as they are wrapping up their harvest festival. Before the church really spread this village worshiped a wolf goddess who would favor them with wondrous harvests. These days the folks of the town go through the motions, not really believing, but not willing to anger the goddess.

Good idea, because Holo (Ami Koshimizu) is still around. This long-lived wolf goddess has gotten bored with the little town and decides to take up the peddler’s life. She transforms into the guise of a young woman and teams up with Lawrence, much to his chagrin. But the two work well together. Lawrence is business savvy and knows how to spot a good opportunity. Holo can read people (including Lawrence) very well and uses this to their advantage. Along the way they will encounter a currency manipulation plot, a bad deal for armor, and Holo’s nemesis – a shepherd. In the end will Lawrence and Holo make a profit, fall in love or maybe both?

Good Points:
  • Holo and Lawrence are great characters that work well together
  • The laid back pacing makes for an easy viewing experience
  • The conflicts that revolve around being a merchant make for a refreshing change

Bad Points:
  • Some of the financial scheming is explained very quickly and may lose some viewers
  • Very little action in the series at all
  • Doesn’t really have an overarching narrative, but weaves from adventure to adventure
Overall:

This series was a great change of pace. Holo is a fun character and her interaction and banter with Lawrence are what keep you coming back to see what happens next. Conflicts are never very intense, but they are atypical of what you find in most fantasy anime. The animation is quite lovely and really gives the world a unique pastoral feel. Looking forward to returning to these characters in the second season.

Scores (out of 5)
Visuals: 4
Sound: 3
Acting: 4
Script: 4
Music: 4
Direction: 4
Entertainment: 4
Total:  4

In Depth Review

On the road for fun and profit.
I heard about Spice and Wolf when it first made it to DVD nearly ten years ago. It sounded like a unique and lighthearted tale that was different from much of the fantasy anime I’d experienced. I’ve had it on my radar since then and was pleased to see it appear on Hulu (both seasons). I finally dove in, hoping it was able to live up to the hype.

Hype is really too strong a word for Spice and Wolf. The series is mellow, easy going and for the most part a story about a growing friendship that covers 13 episodes. Yes there are some intense moments in the story, and the world the characters inhabit can be dangerous. But for the most part this series travels along the road slowly but letting the viewer take in the atmosphere and the relationship it is building.

The focus to the series is the two main characters. Lawrence is a pragmatic man with a keen eye for details and the ability to see how these details can be exploited to his financial advantage. But he is not without feelings. In fact his empathy get the pair in trouble, and Holo accuses him of being too kind hearted. Lawrence is obviously taken with Holo, but knows full well that this is some kind of immortal being he is dealing with. The way he attempts to navigate their growing relationship is charming and amusing. He makes the perfect straight man for the more mercurial goddess.

Don't try pulling a fast one on Holo, she got ears like
a wolf... literally.
But the wolf of Spice and Wolf, isn’t your typical over the top anime girlfriend. This is a creature that is hundreds (or thousands) of years old. While she looks like a young woman her experience and keen senses give her advantages over the “youngsters” around her. But she is still the spirit of a wolf, and as such sometimes those instincts overpower her more human aspects. So when she finds something she enjoys eating, apples for example, she will just keep eating and eating them until she makes herself sick. She can be greedy. Other times she can take offense to seemingly minor issues. But she will often toy with Lawrence, teasing him with performances as an ideal partner, before mocking how gullible he is. But through it all, we see how lonely she has become and how much she appreciates Lawrence. By the time we hit episode 13 the two really understand each other and it is great to have that kind of character evolution.

Lawrence is just a nice guy in a love triangle
with a wolf and capitalism.
The other interesting element of the series is the world created in Spice and Wolf. Modeled after medieval Europe before gunpowder was introduced, we have a society in the grip of a powerful monotheistic church. There are trade guilds that wield power over merchants. We see how different kingdoms use different coins (with varying weights) and how this impacts trade as well as currency schemes when one king tries to obtain financial power over others. The world feels like a real place because of these details. But I also enjoy the art style, especially in the open road where we see the lovely countryside or the ominous mountains that loom above the characters. While this isn’t top tier animation, it works very well in the context of the show.

He should have known that a shepherd would cause a
problem for his wolf.
I watched the series in Japanese and most of the cast was very good. Koshimizu makes Holo very appealing and does a great job with a character with so many facets. Fukuyama matches her with his even approach to Lawrence. You can’t help but smile when he gets annoyed or befuddled by Holo’s latest scheme.

I enjoyed the score to the series. It keeps mostly in a medieval style with some lovely a cappella vocals taking over at key moments. It works well in context and adds to the atmosphere of the show. I also like both the songs used in the credits. Tabi no Tochu performed by Natsumi Kiyoura is a melodic piece that sets the opening mood. The Wolf Whistling Song is a cute jaunty tune performed by Rocky Chack. It has charming lyrics and works well with the end credit animation.

"Does this bother you? I'm totally touching you."
On some level I can’t imagine Spice and Wolf working. It seems at times too simplistic in concept or too obscure in execution to really gel. But it does. Part of it is the way the relationship builds over the course of the episodes. The series was constructed with a keen eye to making it all flow together, even if there isn’t a real antagonist for the whole series. Instead you get mini-adventures that last a few episodes. This gives us enough time to hang out with Holo and Lawrence. The characters are the focus and because they are so well realized it brings you back for more.

An atypical anime for me, and miles away from something like Log Horizon or Attack on Titan, but shows that fantasy stories can take many shapes and be uniquely entertaining. In some circles Spice and Wolf is considered a classic, I can see why. I’m looking forward to the second season and where it takes our two entrepreneurs.


Enjoy this review? Click an ad and support this blog.

"Here's to good friends. Tonight is kinda special!"

Sunday, March 25, 2018

Colossal (2016)

Introduction:

This film popped up on a few lists for forgotten films from the past couple years. It is usually pitched as a comedy featuring giant monsters. But the movie is actually a bit deeper than that. Anne Hathaway and Jason Sudeikis give us some really damaged characters and put them in an extraordinary situations, one that fuels a solid share of drama and morbid humor.

Summary:

Gloria (Anne Hathaway) is stuck in a rut. She goes out partying each night, doesn’t bother with finding a job (using her talents as a writer) and is annoying her boyfriend Tim (Dan Stevensl) to no end. So he kicks her out of their New York apartment. Gloria returns to her rural hometown to try and get her life back together.

She runs into her childhood friend Oscar (Jason Sudeikis) who offers her a job in his bar. Grasping at straws she takes it up, even though it is an excuse to drink even more with Oscar and his buddies Joel (Austin Stowell) and Garth (Tim Blake Nelson). But a strange things happens on the night Gloria stumbles her way home, a gigantic monster appears in Seoul, South Korea. Like everyone else, Gloria is fascinated by the news reports – but then notices something alarming. The monster has the same nervous head scratch that she does. It becomes apparent that the monster is tied to Gloria’s actions and mind in some strange way. Will Gloria indulge in her new Colossal power, or is there something even more sinister at play?

Good Points:
  • An interesting take on the concept of inner demons
  • Excellent performances by the cast
  • A unique premise that keeps you interested

Bad Points:
  • Attempts to balance drama and dark comedy, not always pulling it off
  • Those expecting tons of laughs or monster action will be disappointed
  • Some viewers may find the lack of a likeable protagonist a detriment

Overall:

This movie sounds like it is going to be a fun twist on the giant monster film. But it is a little more than that. The movie focuses on the characters who are all damaged in some way. By building their issues in a believable way, we come up with some uncomfortable laughs and some interesting giant monster thrills. Well worth checking out if you are in the mood for something a little different, and some excellent performances to boot (and a fun score by Bear McCreary).

Scores (out of 5)
Visuals:  4
Sound: 3
Acting:  4
Script:  4
Music: 4
Direction: 4
Entertainment: 4
Total:  4

Curious about a full review, sent me an email and I’ll make additional thoughts to this review.


Enjoying the content? Click and ad before you go and support this blog.